Brazil Nut Anytime Cookies (gluten free, egg free, dairy free, paleo, vegan)

26 Jan

So, I can’t eat anything almond right now.  I apparently overdid the almond flour and almond milk over the holidays, and now my body is sensitized to them (stupid leaky gut. . .).  Almond milk was my favorite, but I’ve been playing with hemp, rice, hazelnut, sunflower, cashew, coconut and any other different kinds of non-dairy milks, so that’s not too bad.  I did miss the recipe for “Anytime Cookies” from the Eat Like A Dinosaur cookbook by Paleo Parents (I highly recommend that book to any parents who want to cook healthy foods with their kids or for anyone dealing with gluten sensitivities, regardless of age).   Unfortunately for me, a lot of their recipes for “sweets” use almond flour.  At a friend’s suggestion, I adapted the recipe for use with Brazil nuts instead of almonds.

Please note that I am not vegan (I can’t have milk or eggs, but I eat meat), or paleo (I eat plenty of different grains), nor do I have issues with gluten myself (I’ve got friends who do), but I like that this is a fairly simple and extremely healthy, guilt-free cookie.  The dough is excellent to snitch on before baking (my daughter asked me to dish up a bowl for her to eat with a spoon, which I had no qualms about).  The cookies are quite tasty when cooled, but they don’t taste very sweet when they are warm from the oven, so wait before you pass judgement.

So, without any further ado, here is the recipe for:

Brazil Nut Anytime Cookies (gluten free, egg free, dairy free, paleo, vegan)

  • 3 packed cups ground Brazil nuts (around 20 ounces, I’d guess?  I forgot to weigh them, but it took all of one 1 lb bag and part of another)
  • 1 apple
  • 1 ripe banana (all yellow with a few brown spots is ideal)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2-1 cup raisins, chocolate chips, coconut flakes, whatever (optional)
  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Grind and measure your nuts, put the measured ground nuts in a bowl.  To grind the nuts, put them in your blender and whiz them around for a while.  You may need to scrape the edges a few times to keep things down by the blades.  The finished texture should be somewhere between the mealiness of almond flour and the creaminess of peanut butter, with some chunks of nuts floating around (don’t worry about them; they add texture to the cookies).
  3. Core and slice the apple, peel and slice the banana, and put both into your blender, and add the vanilla.  Blend until smooth.  If the apple and banana don’t give enough mass for your blender to work with, add some of the ground Brazil nuts to help it work (but not all of it; you want some of the Brazil nut stuff to stay floury and chunky).
  4. Add the salt and baking soda to the ground nuts and mix well, breaking any clumps of baking soda (mine clumps, anyways).
  5. Mix the wet and dry ingredients together, then stir in your optional add-ins, if desired (dark chocolate chips are our favorites).
  6. Measure out spoonfuls on to a parchment paper lined cookie sheet, and gently press them down, either with a spoon or a fork.  They don’t melt flat like traditional chocolate chip cookies, so you need to give them a little help to be the right shape.
  7. Bake for about 10 minutes (plus or minus about two minutes depending on your oven, altitude, etc.).
  8. Take out when they start to turn brown on the edges, and let them cool on the baking sheet before removing to a plate.
  9. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

